Chip and firmware
HP 219 and Dynamic Security: what can be blocked?
A factual explanation of chips, firmware and recognition, so you can judge the risk of a compatible cartridge yourself.
Content updated:
What dynamic security means
HP describes dynamic security as technology that allows printers to detect cartridges using non-HP chips or circuitry. HP says firmware updates may maintain or change these checks.
What you can — and cannot — conclude
- Original HP cartridges have the lowest risk of rejection specifically because of dynamic security.
- A compatible product is neither automatically blocked nor guaranteed to work.
- A recognition error can also come from installation, contacts, transport protection, a fault or the wrong regional code.
- A chip statement comes from the manufacturer or seller; it is not an independent 219toner.com test.
How to read chip statements
Our product records keep three states separate. “Chip included” means the seller states that for the exact product. “No chip” requires the seller's product-specific procedure. “Not stated” must not be treated as included.
Before and after a firmware update
- Record the printer model, firmware version and exact wording of any message.
- Before updating, read HP's notes and, for third-party toner, the seller's product guidance.
- After an error, check cartridge code, installation and contacts before attempting resets or downgrades.
- If the error remains, use the seller's return, warranty or support route.
HP+ is a separate setup choice
Do not infer HP+ activation from an e-model alone. What matters is whether HP+ was actually activated during setup. Do not assume it can simply be switched off later.
What to check before buying compatible toner
- the exact W2190X equivalent and printer model
- chip status on the exact product listing
- seller returns and warranty terms
- the compatible product's own stated yield
- current firmware guidance, without blanket compatibility promises
Verified compatible W2190X offers
This table comes from the central product and offer layer. Price, the product's own yield, seller and chip statement stay attached to the exact compatible product.
Compatible W2190X: price, own yield and chip statement
3 exact offers · 3 brands · 2 with calculable cost per page
Original HP benchmark
W2190X · Cartridge Save
HP-stated yield approx. 3,200 pages
£84.47
£2.64 / 100 pages
| Product / retailer | Price | Yield / value | Reviews / assurance | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cartridge Save own-brand W2190X Cartridge Save | £48.14 Inc VAT · Free delivery (conditions apply) Price checked 12 October 2026 | Approx. 3,200 pages £1.50 / 100 pages Cartridge Save (stated on the product page; the shop bases its page figures on 5% coverage on A4) | Cartridge Save states a 3-year warranty and a printer protection guarantee for its own-brand cartridges. Chip: not stated by the seller | View deal |
| The Cartridge Centre Premium Compatible W2190X The Cartridge Centre | £72.99 Inc VAT · Delivery charge unknown Price checked 12 October 2026 | Approx. 3,200 pages £2.28 / 100 pages The Cartridge Centre (stated on the product page as "Prints approx N pages @ 5% coverage") | The Cartridge Centre states a 12-month guarantee: a free replacement or a full refund if the cartridge disappoints. Chip: not stated by the seller | View deal |
| TonerGiant own-brand W2190X TonerGiant | View current price Inc VAT · Free UK mainland delivery Price checked 3 October 2026 | Approx. 3,200 pages not calculable TonerGiant (stated on the product page; the shop quotes its page figures at 5% coverage) | TonerGiant states a 3-year guarantee (replacement or refund) and Premium Printer Cover for its own-brand cartridges; terms apply. Chip: not stated by the seller | View at TonerGiant |
-
Cartridge Save own-brand
W2190X · Cartridge Save
£48.14
Approx. 3,200 pages stated by the seller
£1.50 / 100 pages
Cartridge Save states a 3-year warranty and a printer protection guarantee for its own-brand cartridges.
Chip: not stated by the seller
View deal -
The Cartridge Centre Premium Compatible
W2190X · The Cartridge Centre
£72.99
Approx. 3,200 pages stated by the seller
£2.28 / 100 pages
The Cartridge Centre states a 12-month guarantee: a free replacement or a full refund if the cartridge disappoints.
Chip: not stated by the seller
View deal -
TonerGiant own-brand
W2190X · TonerGiant
Price at retailer
Approx. 3,200 pages stated by the seller
Cost per page not calculable
TonerGiant states a 3-year guarantee (replacement or refund) and Premium Printer Cover for its own-brand cartridges; terms apply.
Chip: not stated by the seller
View current price at TonerGiant
If a cartridge is not recognised
Remove all transport protection, reseat the cartridge straight and check its code, colour and contacts. If available, test a cartridge that previously worked. Only then is it useful to separate a product fault, firmware question and possible printer fault.
Questions about chips and firmware
Is every compatible HP 219 toner blocked?
No. Behaviour depends on the exact product, chip, printer and firmware version. Only the seller can provide a product-specific warranty.
Does “chip included” prove the toner will always work?
No. It is a seller statement about the supplied product, not independent long-term testing or a promise about future firmware.
Is every recognition error dynamic security?
No. Wrong code, regional version, installation, transport material, contacts or a product fault are other possible causes.
Sources (1)
-
HP's own explanation: certain printers are designed to work only with cartridges that have an original or new HP chip, and firmware updates can change this behaviour.
Checked: 28 August 2026
Facts from HP and standards bodies are labelled as such. Calculations (cost per page and annual cost) are estimates by the 219toner.com editorial team. Last reconciled on .